a blog about mental illness and community

Alta’s story

According to beyondblue up to 3 million Australians are living with anxiety. That’s a whopping chunk of the population!

Alta is one of those people – she experiences severe anxiety attacks. As the first contributor to the Your Stories segment of the blog, it would be great if we could make Alta feel really welcome here by sharing helpful comments and information.

I have anxieties….the really bad kind. Im constantly worrying that Im going to die of a heart attack….I get all the symptoms of a person having a heart attack. Im dizzy, my arms hurt, especially my upper left arm. My heart flutters, I have headaches, constantly having to get up to go to the bathroom, especially at nite, my muscles ache, I have diarreha, I can go on & on about all the symptoms I have. I have been to the ER 5 times this yr alone…thinking I was having a heart attack…but all the test results always comes back normal. I cry myself to sleep at nite becuz I dont know how to cope & manage my anxieties. I was hoping that talking about it with someone might help. Please let me know if you have similiar symptoms….or am I losing my mind.

As we can see from Alta’s description, anxiety can be debilitating and extremely distressing.

Anxiety disorders (such as agoraphobia, generalised anxiety disorder and social anxiety) are characterised by ongoing anxious feelings that may seem to exist without any particular reason. They are serious conditions that makes it tough for sufferers to cope with everyday life.

The beyondblue website is a fantastic resource, with lots of information about anxiety disorders and where to get help.

Is there anything you’d like to say to Alta?

Comments on: "Alta’s story" (2)

  1. Hi Alta,
    Wow.. So sorry to hear you experience such awful anxiety. 😦
    I, too, suffer from anxiety, but the severity in terms of signs/symptoms is nowhere near what you experience! And I don’t really have much in the way of helpful advice other than to say that what helps me is being aware of the early warning signs and potential causes/triggers and then trying a few basic relaxation techniques, i.e. breathing exercises. For me, listening to music always has a calming effect, as does painting my nails. I guess different things work for different people. Anyhow, hopefully you’re surrounded by love/support.

  2. […] Looking for inspiration? You can read about Alta’s experiences of severe anxiety here. […]

Leave a Reply

